Tri-series: Umpiring error sparks Dhoni's temper - The Times of India
NEW DELHI: Indian skipper MS Dhoni
was irked by a goof up by the TV umpire Bruce Oxenford
during the seventh ODI of the tri-series at Brisbane
on Sunday. In the 29th over of the Australian innings, Mike Hussey
was adjudged stumped out by the third umpire.
Part-time spinner Suresh Raina bowled from round the wicket and beat Hussey on the drive through the off side. Hussey dragged his back foot back and a part of his boot was behind the crease.
But a confident appeal by Indian skipper was followed by 'out' flash on the TV screen.
However, just when Hussey started walking back to pavilion, on-field umpire Billy Bowden called Hussey back telling him that the third umpire had pressed the wrong button.
The comedy of error by Oxenford didn't go down well with Dhoni as he had hot argument with the on-field umpires.
TV commentators Wasim Akram and Ravi Shastri also couldn't see the funny side of it.
"Come on, there are just two buttons there. You have to push one of them and you can't do that right. Amazing," remarked Akram.
"As third umpire, that's what you get to do in a whole day's work, can't go wrong on that," added Shastri.
Dhoni had earlier expressed disappointment over umpiring error during India-Sri Lanka of the tri-series clash that ended in a tie on Tuesday.